Hi, my name is Tim and welcome to my blog!

I live in Keene which is in the Cheshire County here in New Hampshire. I occupy a two-bedroom apartment within walking distance from the center of the city. I work part time at a retirement community, Covenant Living, as a dining services aide. I’m a member at the local YMCA, love pickleball and bowl once a week. I’m an Incorporator for Monadnock Family Services and am involved with NAMI as an In Our Own Voice speaker. In addition to all this I love reading, writing and public speaking. During my free time when I’m not out and about in the community you will find me at home either reading a great book or sitting at my desk in my study writing. 

Someone once said becoming a great writer starts with being an avid reader. I believe this hence I read a lot.

Writing is like a language for me. I use it to communicate with not only the community in which I live but also the larger community. It allows me to get my thoughts out in a way that others can understand. It is my preferred way of communicating. 

How many of you know Ludwig van Beethoven? He was a German composer and pianist who lived from 1770-1827. One interesting fact about him is he was known to have a mental illness (alcohol use disorder and bipolar disorder). Even with those disorders he was still a great composer. Today he remains one of the most admired composers in the history of Western music. When I think of myself as a writer, I can’t help but think of him. Like him I too have a mental illness. 

One day during a therapy session my therapist gave me a meme. It’s derived from the original quote by Brene Brown: “One day you will tell your story of how you overcame what you went through and it will become someone else’s survival guide.”

Today, January 4, 2024, I’m officially making it known to the public that I have a story to tell that I know will bring hope to many people who either have a mental illness or know someone who suffers from one. If you are one of them I invite you to read my blog.

Tim Avatar

Published by

Categories:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started